Chaos and Confusion

“Thou who replaced chaos with light…”

The words above are part of an invocation to Ma’at, one of several which I have used in my ritual practice. I repeated these words many times this morning, for chaos and confusion surrounded me throughout my spiritual work. As I recited the words of my morning ritual and performed the actions, questions seemed to come at me from all directions, yet then, as I tried to grasp hold of the questions and seek answers, they swirled around in a maddening jumble leaving me perplexed and bewildered.

Throughout the ritual, my mind wandered here, there, and everywhere else. I couldn’t focus. I couldn’t concentrate. A long “to-do” list came sweeping in, reminding me of the many tasks and obligations I have facing me today.

Was I tempted to forego my ritual?

No. If these distractions were an attempt to dissuade me from my morning time with Ma’at, they were meaningless. I have come to thoroughly enjoy the moments I spend with the goddess. I learn from her each day, even on days like this when chaos and confusion abound.

Bible believers make much of chaos and confusion, as in this passage from 2 Peter:

But know this, that in the last days perilous times will come:  For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,  unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good, traitors, headstrong, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God,  having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!

Yet chaos has another meaning beyond our common concept of mixed up, muddled messes. Chaos is defined as “the infinity of space or formless matter supposed to have preceded the existence of the ordered universe.”

And so it is that the Goddess Ma’at replaced this formless infinity of space and brought order to our world. I find this to be a powerful — and empowering — thought. Surely this goddess can guide me through my occasional days of chaos and confusion and see that order, balance, and harmony are restored in my life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

